And let’s end the day with a musical number…

Remember this?

You should. And you should do something to show the governor (again) that this guy is a tool.

Well,I never felt more like singing the blues
‘specially when my name’s in the news
the headlines, they got me singing the blues

Well, I never felt more like cryin’ all night
‘specially when the budget’s tight
the payroll, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

The budget that I thought was mine
is disappearing line by line
There’s nothin’ left for me to do
but cut your budget, too.

Well, I never felt more like runnin’ away
but where would I go to get better pay
upward mobility, it’s got me singin’ the blues

Well, I never felt more like singin’ the blues
’cause I never thought that I’d ever lose
my assistant, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

Well, I never felt more like cryin’ all night
’cause givin’ a pink slip don’t seem right
job security, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

The office space I thought was mine
is gone and I’m told not to whine
There’s nothin’ left for me to do
but move in the cubicle with you

Well, I never felt more like runnin’ away,
can’t do that until payday
relocation, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

Well, I never felt more like singin’ the blues
;cause most of my colleagues got the bad news
unemployment, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

Well,, I never felt more like cryin’ all night
the economy’s bad and nothin’ seems right
no more Starbucks, that’s got me singin’ the blues.

The raises that I thought were due
my boss tells me they won’t come through
there’s nothin’ left for me to do,
but furlough all of you.

Well, I never felt more like runnin’ away
but I need to update my resume
retirement, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

One Response to And let’s end the day with a musical number…

  1. Leo the Lion says:

    Well, it’s been some time since you stung me good so I thought I would come back and wow, you more than made up for lost time with some good reads.
    Let me add some possible ideas for additional awards:

    MIAA President of the Year
    Let this be all the nomination necessary — take that Bruce.
    http://www.morningsun.net/opinions/x1282425824/LETTER-TO-THE-EDITOR-A-thank-you-from-Pittsburg-State-University

    MIAA Mayor of the Year
    Joplin’s own Mike Woolston, he supports Southern and PSU equally, if only more vocally for PSU.

    MIAA Athletic Program of the Year
    MSSU, we’re keeping the Golden Tater Tot away from PSU!

    Lionbacker of the Year
    Nominations sought, but this would be a good award for SW to present.

    Leo the Lion Coach of the Year
    Tom Rutledge, they get it down on the track/course and in the classroom. Plus, he’s on his way out, he’s earned some props.

Leave a comment