August was the anniversary of Pink Slip Blues

Remember this? Watch out. It is going to come back.

What a dick.

Well,I never felt more like singing the blues
‘specially when my name’s in the news
the headlines, they got me singing the blues

Well, I never felt more like cryin’ all night
‘specially when the budget’s tight
the payroll, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

The budget that I thought was mine
is disappearing line by line
There’s nothin’ left for me to do
but cut your budget, too.

Well, I never felt more like runnin’ away
but where would I go to get better pay
upward mobility, it’s got me singin’ the blues

Well, I never felt more like singin’ the blues
’cause I never thought that I’d ever lose
my assistant, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

Well, I never felt more like cryin’ all night
’cause givin’ a pink slip don’t seem right
job security, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

The office space I thought was mine
is gone and I’m told not to whine
There’s nothin’ left for me to do
but move in the cubicle with you

Well, I never felt more like runnin’ away,
can’t do that until payday
relocation, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

Well, I never felt more like singin’ the blues
;cause most of my colleagues got the bad news
unemployment, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

Well,, I never felt more like cryin’ all night
the economy’s bad and nothin’ seems right
no more Starbucks, that’s got me singin’ the blues.

The raises that I thought were due
my boss tells me they won’t come through
there’s nothin’ left for me to do,
but furlough all of you.

Well, I never felt more like runnin’ away
but I need to update my resume
retirement, it’s got me singin’ the blues.

Leave a Reply

